The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has launched today a worldwide search for the best science, engineering and technology innovations for one of the industry’s most prestigious awards programmes – the Innovation Awards.

The Innovation Awards recognise excellence across 16 categories from sustainability and transport to communications and healthcare technologies. The free-to-enter, international, annual awards scheme provides a unique opportunity for engineering inventors to showcase their brightest ideas.

The awards scheme, now in its 10th year, is renowned for raising the profile of its winners and bringing them to a wider audience. Many former Innovation Award winners report increased interest in their products as a result of winning the accolade. The scheme is open to companies who are doing something that will introduce a technological step change and that contributes to better ways of doing things, new products, enhanced performance or better value.

Barry Brooks, President of the IET, said:

Research (PD)“Innovation is essential for the growth of the global economy and raising the standard of living of all communities. Innovation is the differentiator that makes companies successful and, in keeping with the IET’s mission to inspire excellence in engineering and technology, we now invite applications for examples of the best innovations from around the world. These Innovation Awards are a core part of the IET’s substantial awards and sponsorship programme, which, last year, provided over £500,000 to celebrate distinction and to influence the next generation of engineers to develop their own ideas. The IET’s Innovation Awards are a great opportunity to showcase some of the very best work taking place around the world.”

Entries are sought in the following categories:

  • Asset Management
  • Built Environment
  • Communications
  • Consumer Electronics Technology
  • Emerging Technology Design
  • Healthcare Technologies
  • Information Technology
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Manufacturing Technology
  • Measurement in Action
  • Model-Based Engineering
  • Navigation and Surveillance Communications
  • Power / Energy
  • Start-up
  • Sustainability
  • Transport

Each category of the Innovation Awards is independently judged by a panel of experts in that field, with the shortlist announced each October. The winners will be revealed at a black tie dinner and ceremony, hosted by BBC Click’s Kate Russell, taking place on 19 November 2014.

There are still some sponsorship opportunities available. Sponsorship of the Innovation Awards provides profile opportunities within the global science, engineering,  and technology community.

To find out more about the Innovation Awards, sponsorship opportunities or to submit an entry, please visit The deadline for entries is 25 July.

Comment Here!